Skip to content
Vent and Vane

Cost

Humidifier filter replacement costs

Four of the six filtered units in our set publish no replacement interval anywhere on their product page. That is not a detail, it is the running cost, left off the label.

By Scooter M. · Published · Updated

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. Full disclosure. We show a live price when we have one and the words “Check price” when we do not. We never print a number we cannot currently verify.

Humidifier filter replacement costs - ranked, with the arithmetic
#ProductBest forGal/dayPrice
1
No
image
Honeywell HCM350 Germ Free Cool MoistureTop pickA break-resistant, dishwasher-safe tank and a wide opening. It is the only unit here designed so the hardest part of ownership is easy.
Cleaning, without qualification1.0implied · 296 sq ft
2
No
image
Canopy Large Room HumidifierEvaporative, no visible mist, dishwasher-safe tank, tray, cap and grill, and a fan that dries the unit between uses. Canopy publishes almost no numbers at all.
Dishwasher-safe everythingnot publishednothing to compute with
3
No
image
Vornado Evap40Vornado publishes an output figure and a coverage figure, and the two agree. Four gallons a day covers about 1,180 sq ft at our derived rate against a 1,000 sq ft claim.
The only coverage claim here the arithmetic supports4.0published · 1,184 sq ft
4
No
image
Levoit Superior 6000SSix gallons, evaporative, and a Dry Mode that dries the wicks between runs. The 3,000 sq ft claim needs five times the output its own run time implies.
Mist-free humidification with a drying cycle2.0implied · 592 sq ft
5
No
image
Aprilaire Model 700Eighteen gallons a day against a stated 5,300 sq ft, cited to AHRI Guideline F. It is ducted, it needs installing, and it is the only sizing claim here with a standard behind it.
An actual whole house, sized against a standard18.0published · 5,328 sq ft
Replacement wick filters stacked on a shelf
Licensed stock photograph, for illustration. It is not a photograph of any product on this page and we have not handled any of them.

When you buy an evaporative humidifier you are buying a subscription, and almost nobody tells you the billing period. This page works out what the period actually is, from the makers' own words where they give them and by naming the silence where they do not.

We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. Full disclosure. We show a live price when we have one and the words “Check price” when we do not. We never print a number we cannot currently verify.

Humidifier filter replacement costs - ranked, with the arithmetic
#ProductBest forGal/dayPrice
1
No
image
Honeywell HCM350 Germ Free Cool MoistureTop pickA break-resistant, dishwasher-safe tank and a wide opening. It is the only unit here designed so the hardest part of ownership is easy.
Cleaning, without qualification1.0implied · 296 sq ft
2
No
image
Canopy Large Room HumidifierEvaporative, no visible mist, dishwasher-safe tank, tray, cap and grill, and a fan that dries the unit between uses. Canopy publishes almost no numbers at all.
Dishwasher-safe everythingnot publishednothing to compute with
3
No
image
Vornado Evap40Vornado publishes an output figure and a coverage figure, and the two agree. Four gallons a day covers about 1,180 sq ft at our derived rate against a 1,000 sq ft claim.
The only coverage claim here the arithmetic supports4.0published · 1,184 sq ft
4
No
image
Levoit Superior 6000SSix gallons, evaporative, and a Dry Mode that dries the wicks between runs. The 3,000 sq ft claim needs five times the output its own run time implies.
Mist-free humidification with a drying cycle2.0implied · 592 sq ft
5
No
image
Aprilaire Model 700Eighteen gallons a day against a stated 5,300 sq ft, cited to AHRI Guideline F. It is ducted, it needs installing, and it is the only sizing claim here with a standard behind it.
An actual whole house, sized against a standard18.0published · 5,328 sq ft

What the manufacturers publish

Published replacement intervals, read from manufacturer pages 1 September 2026
UnitConsumableStated intervalPer 182-day season
Canopy Large RoomAntimicrobial filterEvery 45 days4.0
Aprilaire 700Model 35 Water PanelOnce or twice per heating season1-2
Honeywell HCM350HAC504 Filter ANot stated on the product pageunknown
Vornado Evap402 humidifying wicksNot statedunknown
Levoit Superior 6000S4 wick filtersNot statedunknown
AIRCARE MA1201MAF1 SuperWickNot statedunknown

The arithmetic, for the two that do tell you

Four filters a season. Aprilaire's ducted unit, at once or twice per heating season, uses one or two Water Panels for the same period - a two- to fourfold difference in consumable count, and it exists because the ducted unit drains rather than holding standing water. That mechanism is compared on wick versus water panel.

Why there is no dollar figure on this page

Because we would have to remember one, and remembered prices are exactly what this site refuses to publish. The live price layer that supplies every figure on the site is empty in this build - the Amazon Creators API credentials were not present in the build environment - so every price on Vent & Vane currently reads Check price. Once the daily refresh has credentials, real prices appear here with no editorial change.

The part you cannot look up is the multiplier, and that is the part we have done. Take today's price for your filter, multiply by the count in the table, and you have the season's consumable cost. If your unit is one of the four with no published interval, the honest answer is that you cannot compute it, and that itself should weigh on the purchase.

The signals that a wick is finished

In the absence of a published interval, function is the guide. A wick works by holding water across a large surface area for a fan to evaporate; it fails when mineral deposited through its structure stops it doing that.

  • Stiff or crunchy. Mineral through the structure. Rinsing will not soften it.
  • Output has fallen at the same setting. The most reliable functional test there is.
  • The tray level is not dropping. The wick has stopped taking water up.
  • Persistent smell after a proper clean. Growth inside a porous medium. Replace it, do not try to disinfect it.

How to tell a wick that is genuinely finished from one that just looks dirty is on filter care, including how to rinse the ones that are worth rinsing.

What makes wicks last longer

Factors, and how much they matter
FactorEffect on wick life
Water hardnessThe dominant factor. Every mineral captured is capacity spent.
Hours run per dayProportional. A unit run 24 hours consumes wicks three times faster than one run overnight.
Drying between runsGenuinely helps. Levoit states Dry Mode extends filter life by drying the elevated wicks.
Rotating the wickModest but free, where the design allows a different edge to sit in the water.
RinsingHelps a soft wick, does nothing for a crusted one.

The alternative

An ultrasonic unit has no wick and therefore no filter bill at all. The Levoit ultrasonic units in our set require nothing but a water filter sponge and optional descaling pads. That is a genuine saving and it comes with a genuine cost: those units atomize whatever is dissolved in the water, producing white dust, which either means living with it or buying distilled water. Which of the two bills is larger depends on your water and your output, and it is worked through on filter-free vs filtered.

The picks, in full

No
image

Top pick · Cleaning, without qualification

Honeywell HCM350 Germ Free Cool Moisture

A break-resistant, dishwasher-safe tank and a wide opening. It is the only unit here designed so the hardest part of ownership is easy.

One gallon over 24 hours is one gallon a day, which at our derived rate is about 296 square feet. Honeywell says medium room. Those two statements agree, which is a low bar that most of this category fails to clear.

The reason to buy it is the tank. Dishwasher-safe and break-resistant, with an opening wide enough to actually reach inside, against an EPA instruction to clean every third day. A humidifier you will genuinely clean twice a week beats a larger one you will clean twice a winter, and this is the only unit here whose maker treats that as a design requirement rather than a footnote.

There is one inconsistency worth naming. The specification table on Honeywell's own page says a 1 gallon tank; the feature copy a few hundred pixels above it says 1.1 gallons. It is a small discrepancy and it is on the maker's own page, which is a fair illustration of why we quote the table and say which one we took.

What works

  • Dishwasher-safe, break-resistant tank with a wide opening, which is the whole ballgame for maintenance
  • The wicking filter captures minerals, so no white dust regardless of your water
  • The published tank and run time are consistent with the room size claimed

What does not

  • HAC504 wicks are a recurring cost with no interval published on the product page
  • One gallon a day is a bedroom, not a floor of a house
  • The maker's own page states two different tank capacities

Skip this ifyou need to humidify an open-plan living space. This is a one-room machine and its own figures say so.

The arithmetic

Implied output (continuous)
1.0 gal/day
Covers, at 296 sq ft per gal/day
296 sq ft

Output derived as tank capacity divided by published run time, times 24. Coverage rate derived from Aprilaire’s own published capacity-and-coverage pairs.

Published specification

Tank
1 galHoneywell's own specification table says 1 gallon; the marketing copy on the same page says 1.1. We quote the table.Source
Output/day
not publishedTank and run time only
Coverage
Medium roomHoneywell publishes a size class rather than a number. Its published tank and run time imply about 1 gallon per day, or roughly 296 sq ft at our derived rate.Source
Run time
Up to 24 hSource
Power
not published
Filter
HAC504 Filter AOne included. Honeywell states its own filters should be used.Source
Cleaning
Dishwasher safe, break resistant tank, wide openingHoneywell's own wording. It also states the wicking filter removes impurities from the water, reducing white dust.Source
No
image

Pick 2 · Dishwasher-safe everything

Canopy Large Room Humidifier

Evaporative, no visible mist, dishwasher-safe tank, tray, cap and grill, and a fan that dries the unit between uses. Canopy publishes almost no numbers at all.

Canopy has built the machine around the maintenance problem rather than around a spec sheet, and it shows in both directions. Four components go in the dishwasher, the filter has a stated 45-day life rather than a vague 30-to-60, and a fan dries the interior between runs so there is less standing water to colonize in the first place.

What it does not have is numbers. No tank capacity, no output, no run time, no wattage. The 1,000 square foot claim is therefore the only unverifiable coverage figure on this page: with the others we can at least compute an implied output from the maker's own tank and run time and show you the gap. Here there is nothing to compute with.

That is a real trade and worth stating plainly. You are buying a maintenance design and a subscription-shaped filter cadence, and giving up the ability to check the size claim. For a buyer whose actual failure mode is never cleaning the thing, that may be the right trade. It is not the right trade for someone sizing a room.

What works

  • Four dishwasher-safe components, which no other unit here matches
  • A published, specific filter interval rather than a range
  • Airflow drying between uses attacks standing water directly

What does not

  • No published tank capacity, output, run time or wattage
  • 45-day filter replacement is the most frequent schedule in this set
  • The 1,000 sq ft claim cannot be checked against any manufacturer figure

Skip this ifyou want to verify the size claim before you buy. Nothing Canopy publishes lets you do that.

The arithmetic

There is none to do. This maker publishes no tank capacity, no output and no run time, so there is no figure of its own to check its coverage claim against. That is the finding.

Published specification

Tank
not publishedCanopy publishes no tank capacity for this model
Output/day
not published
Coverage
Up to 1,000 sq ft1,000 sq ft needs about 3.4 gal/day at our derived rate. With no published tank or output, the claim cannot be checked at all.Source
Run time
not published
Power
not published
Filter
Antimicrobial filter, replaced every 45 daysCanopy's own stated interval. It is the only firm replacement interval published by any maker in this set.Source
Cleaning
Tank, tray, cap and grill are dishwasher safeCanopy's Smart Persistent Airflow runs a fan whenever moisture is detected inside the unit, nearly drying it out between usesSource
No
image

Pick 3 · The only coverage claim here the arithmetic supports

Vornado Evap40

Vornado publishes an output figure and a coverage figure, and the two agree. Four gallons a day covers about 1,180 sq ft at our derived rate against a 1,000 sq ft claim.

Run the check that fails everywhere else on this page and it passes here. Four gallons a day at 296 square feet per gallon per day is about 1,180 square feet of coverage, against a claim of 1,000. Vornado left itself margin instead of taking it.

It passes because it is evaporative. A wick and a fan can only put as much water into the air as the air will accept, which is why an evaporative unit self-limits near 50% relative humidity and why it cannot produce white dust: the minerals stay in the wick. The EPA's guidance to use low-mineral water exists mainly because ultrasonic and impeller units disperse what is dissolved in the tank, and this design does not.

The cost of that is the wick. Two of them, on a schedule Vornado does not publish, which is the recurring bill an ultrasonic unit does not have. Whether that trade is worth it is arithmetic, and it is worked through in full on our filter-cost page.

What works

  • Publishes an output figure, and the coverage claim survives being checked against it
  • Evaporative, so it cannot produce white dust and self-limits near a safe humidity
  • Five-year warranty, the longest published here

What does not

  • Two wicks to replace on an interval Vornado does not publish
  • A fan moving air across a wet wick is audible, and no dB figure is published
  • No rated wattage published

Skip this ifyou want silence. Every evaporative unit is a fan, and Vornado publishes no noise figure for this one.

The arithmetic

Published output (continuous on high)
4.0 gal/day
Covers, at 296 sq ft per gal/day
1,184 sq ft
Maker’s coverage claim
1,000 sq ft
Output that claim would need
3.4 gal/day

Output as the manufacturer publishes it. Coverage rate derived from Aprilaire’s own published capacity-and-coverage pairs.

Published specification

Tank
4 galSource
Output/day
Up to 4 galVornado's wording: up to a 4 gallon water output when operated continuously on highSource
Coverage
Up to 1,000 sq ftSupported by its own published output. This is the only unit in the set where that is true.Source
Run time
not publishedVornado publishes output instead, which is more useful
Power
not published
Filter
Two humidifying wicksTwo are supplied, one front and one rear. No replacement interval is published.Source
Cleaning
Vornado states easy to clean and operateSource
No
image

Pick 4 · Mist-free humidification with a drying cycle

Levoit Superior 6000S

Six gallons, evaporative, and a Dry Mode that dries the wicks between runs. The 3,000 sq ft claim needs five times the output its own run time implies.

Six gallons over 72 hours is two gallons a day, which covers about 590 square feet. The box says 3,000. To actually hold humidity across 3,000 square feet this unit would need to move a little over ten gallons a day, and at that rate its six-gallon reservoir would run dry in about fourteen hours. Both numbers describe the machine; only one describes it at a time, and the maker publishes no figure that reconciles them.

Dry Mode is the genuinely good idea here and it deserves credit. A wet wick sitting in a warm room is the substrate for everything the EPA warns about, and a fan cycle that dries the wicks between runs attacks that problem directly rather than adding an antimicrobial coating and hoping. It also extends wick life, which is the recurring cost.

Thirty watts to move two gallons a day is efficient, and mist-free operation means the minerals stay in the wicks rather than settling on your furniture. If you can live with a coverage claim you should mentally divide by five, this is a well-made machine.

What works

  • Dry Mode addresses the real failure mode of evaporative units instead of masking it
  • Mist-free, so no white dust whatever your water is like
  • 30 W for six gallons of capacity, with noise published at both ends of the range

What does not

  • The 3,000 sq ft claim is about five times what the published tank and run time imply
  • Four wicks to replace, on an interval Levoit does not publish
  • 45 dB at the top of the fan range is audible in a quiet bedroom

Skip this ifyou bought it for the 3,000 sq ft number. Size it at around 600 square feet on the setting whose run time Levoit actually publishes.

The arithmetic

Implied output (low fan speed)
2.0 gal/day
Covers, at 296 sq ft per gal/day
592 sq ft
Maker’s coverage claim
3,000 sq ft
Output that claim would need
10.1 gal/day

Output derived as tank capacity divided by published run time, times 24. Coverage rate derived from Aprilaire’s own published capacity-and-coverage pairs.

Published specification

Tank
6 gal / 22.7 LSource
Output/day
not published
Coverage
3,000 sq ft / 279 m23,000 sq ft needs about 10.1 gal/day at our derived rate. Its published tank and run time imply 2.0.Source
Run time
Up to 72 hOn the low fan speedSource
Power
30 WSource
Noise
28-45 dBSource
Filter
Four wick filters, pre-installedReplacements are sold by Levoit as a four-pack. No replacement interval is published.Source
Cleaning
Dry ModeLevoit's own wording: low and high fan speeds dry out the elevated wick filters, extending filter lifeSource
No
image

Pick 5 · An actual whole house, sized against a standard

Aprilaire Model 700

Eighteen gallons a day against a stated 5,300 sq ft, cited to AHRI Guideline F. It is ducted, it needs installing, and it is the only sizing claim here with a standard behind it.

This is the reference point for the whole site. Aprilaire is the only maker in our set that publishes a capacity in gallons per day and a coverage in square feet together, and cites the residential sizing standard as the basis for pairing them. Three of its models do it consistently: 12 gal/day to 3,600 sq ft, 17 to 5,000, and 18 to 5,300. Those three pairs are where our 296 square feet per gallon per day comes from.

Everything else follows from the fact that it drains. There is no reservoir, so there is no standing water, so the pink film and the mold that dominate portable-humidifier ownership simply do not arise. The Water Panel goes once or twice a heating season instead of a wick every 30 to 60 days, which changes the recurring cost by an order of magnitude.

The honest counterweight is that this is not a purchase, it is a project. It mounts in ductwork, it needs a water line and a drain, it needs a humidistat and an outdoor sensor, and unless you are comfortable cutting into a plenum it needs a contractor. Our whole-house cost page works through the break-even against running several portables.

What works

  • The only sizing claim in this set with a published standard behind it
  • No reservoir, so no standing water and none of the maintenance that follows from it
  • Water Panel changed once or twice a season instead of a wick every month or two

What does not

  • Requires ducted forced-air heating, a water supply, a drain and, realistically, an installer
  • Installed cost is a different order of magnitude from any portable here
  • Wastes water: the drain design that keeps it clean also sends water to waste

Skip this ifyou rent, or you heat with anything other than a ducted forced-air system. Neither is a fixable objection.

The arithmetic

Published output (continuous)
18.0 gal/day
Covers, at 296 sq ft per gal/day
5,328 sq ft
Maker’s coverage claim
5,300 sq ft
Output that claim would need
17.9 gal/day

Output as the manufacturer publishes it. Coverage rate derived from Aprilaire’s own published capacity-and-coverage pairs.

Published specification

Tank
not publishedThere is no tank. It is plumbed to the water supply and drains to waste.
Output/day
18 gal/daySource
Coverage
Up to 5,300 sq ftAprilaire states this for tightly constructed homes and cites AHRI Guideline FSource
Power
24 VAC via the supplied transformerSource
Filter
Model 35 Water PanelAprilaire's stated schedule is once or twice per heating season, which is by far the longest interval of any unit hereSource
Cleaning
Built-in drain flushes mineral build-upWater does not stand inside the unit, which removes the standing-water problem entirelySource

Questions people actually ask

How often should you replace a humidifier filter?

Follow your own manual, and be aware that most makers do not publish an interval. In our set only Canopy (every 45 days) and Aprilaire (once or twice per heating season, for its ducted Water Panel) state one. Honeywell, Vornado, Levoit and AIRCARE publish nothing on their product pages.

How many humidifier filters will I use in a winter?

At Canopy's published 45-day interval, four across a 182-day October-to-March season. At Aprilaire's stated once or twice per heating season for its ducted Water Panel, one or two. For the four units that publish no interval, the honest answer is that it cannot be computed from what the maker tells you.

How much do humidifier filters cost?

We do not print a price we cannot currently verify, and this build's live price layer is empty, so every price on the site reads Check price. The number worth having is the multiplier - filters per season - which is in the table above. Multiply by today's price for your total.

Can I skip replacing the humidifier filter?

On an evaporative unit the wick is the mechanism, not an accessory: a saturated, mineral-clogged wick simply stops evaporating, so the machine keeps running and stops working. You will notice it as reduced output at the same setting.

Do filter-free humidifiers really have no running cost?

No filter cost. They still consume electricity, they still need descaling, and if your water is hard the practical alternative to white dust is buying distilled water, which at higher outputs is a substantial cost of its own.

Sources

Every figure on this page came from one of the documents below, read on the date shown. We do not cite other review sites, forum posts or video reviews as sources of fact.

Found a number that is wrong? Tell us and we will fix it and say so. How we pick shows every formula used on this page.