Picks
Aprilaire 500 review
The cheapest honest answer to a whole house, and one of only two units we cover whose published coverage claim survives its own arithmetic. It borrows your furnace blower to do it.
By Scooter M. · Published · Updated
We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. Full disclosure. Prices checked October 29, 2026.
| # | Product | Best for | Gal/day | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Aprilaire Model 500Top pickTwelve gallons a day against a stated 3,600 sq ft, on the same published basis as the 700. It is the bypass design, which means it borrows the furnace blower instead of bringing its own fan. | A ducted house, without the fan-powered price | 12.0published · 3,552 sq ft | |
| 2 | ![]() Aprilaire Model 600Seventeen gallons a day to a stated 5,000 sq ft - the 700's capacity class in the 500's bypass body. It still borrows the furnace blower, so it humidifies only while that blower runs. | A large ducted house that still wants the bypass price | 17.0published · 5,032 sq ft | |
| 3 | ![]() Aprilaire Model 700Eighteen gallons a day against a stated 5,300 sq ft, cited to AHRI Guideline F. It is ducted, it needs installing, and it is the only sizing claim here with a standard behind it. | An actual whole house, sized against a standard | 18.0published · 5,328 sq ft |

Buy the Aprilaire 500 if your house has ducted forced-air heating, your sizing figure is up to about 12 gallons a day, and your ductwork has a sensible route for a bypass duct. It is the cheapest ducted unit we cover, and it is one of only two humidifiers on this entire site whose published coverage claim survives being checked against its own published capacity.
That second point is the reason this review is short on complaint and long on arithmetic. Aprilaire states 12 gallons a day and up to 3,600 square feet on the same page. Those two numbers work out to 300 square feet per gallon per day, which is within two percent of the 296 figure we derive from Aprilaire's own range - so for once the box and the machine agree.
We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend or the order the picks appear in. Full disclosure. Prices checked October 29, 2026.
| # | Product | Best for | Gal/day | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Aprilaire Model 500Top pickTwelve gallons a day against a stated 3,600 sq ft, on the same published basis as the 700. It is the bypass design, which means it borrows the furnace blower instead of bringing its own fan. | A ducted house, without the fan-powered price | 12.0published · 3,552 sq ft | |
| 2 | ![]() Aprilaire Model 600Seventeen gallons a day to a stated 5,000 sq ft - the 700's capacity class in the 500's bypass body. It still borrows the furnace blower, so it humidifies only while that blower runs. | A large ducted house that still wants the bypass price | 17.0published · 5,032 sq ft | |
| 3 | ![]() Aprilaire Model 700Eighteen gallons a day against a stated 5,300 sq ft, cited to AHRI Guideline F. It is ducted, it needs installing, and it is the only sizing claim here with a standard behind it. | An actual whole house, sized against a standard | 18.0published · 5,328 sq ft |
The number that makes it checkable
Hold that against the rest of the category. Every portable we cover that publishes only a tank and a run time claims coverage between 2.3 and 5.3 times what its own figures imply. Here the claim and the capacity are printed together, in the same units the field actually needs, and they reconcile. Publishing a daily output is not a courtesy - it is the thing that makes a humidifier possible to size, and almost nobody does it.
One honest qualification on Aprilaire's own wording. The headline says "for tightly constructed homes up to 3,600 square feet", and the footnote cites AHRI Guideline F for average construction homes. Those are two different construction assumptions in the same claim. We cite the Guideline F reference because Aprilaire does, and we note that the standard's own text was not available to us - which is stated on gallons per day and is a limit of our rate rather than of this machine. If your house is leaky rather than tight, size above the figure, not at it.
Everything it publishes, in one place
| Specification | Published |
|---|---|
| Output per day | 12 gallons per day |
| Coverage | Up to 3,600 sq ft, "for tightly constructed homes", footnoted to AHRI Guideline F |
| Serves, at our derived rate | About 3,552 sq ft - the claim is supported |
| Design | "Duct-mounted small bypass evaporative humidifier" |
| Reservoir | None. Plumbed to the water supply, drains to waste |
| Water panel | Model 10 |
| Water panel schedule | Annual, per Aprilaire's maintenance page, with an annual distribution-tray inspection |
| Control | Model 60 Digital Automatic Humidistat, included |
| Sensing | "Automatically turns on the HVAC fan to measure the relative humidity inside the ductwork" |
| Also in the box | Model 10 Water Panel, 24VAC transformer, outdoor temperature sensor, saddle valve, installation instructions |
| Dimensions | 13H x 10.25W x 15.625D inches |
| Power | 24 VAC via the supplied transformer |
| Warranty | Not stated on the page - it links to a warranty registration form |
| Water consumption | Not stated |
The bypass catch, which is the whole trade
This machine has no fan of its own. A bypass humidifier is a box mounted on the ductwork with a duct running between the supply and return plenums, and it relies on your furnace blower to push air across its wet Water Panel. Fewer parts, a simpler install, less to fail - and one consequence that decides whether it suits your house: it humidifies only while the blower is moving air.
On a gas furnace in a cold climate that is usually fine, because the blower runs a lot. It matters on mild days when the furnace barely cycles, in a house that heats infrequently, and most of all with a heat pump, which delivers air at a lower supply temperature over long cycles - and evaporation rate depends on how much moisture that air can pick up. Bypass vs fan-powered is the full comparison and steam vs evaporative whole house covers the case where neither evaporative option is right.
There is one nuance on the published sensing behavior worth reading precisely, because it is easy to over-read. Aprilaire states that the control "automatically turns on the HVAC fan to measure the relative humidity inside the ductwork". That is a measurement behavior: it runs the blower to take a reading. It is not a statement that the unit humidifies independently of a heat call, and we are not going to extrapolate it into one. If your heating cycles rarely, the fan-powered 700 or a steam unit is the honest answer.
What is actually in the box
More than people expect, and it changes the cost comparison. Aprilaire ships the humidifier, the Model 60 Digital Automatic Humidistat, a Model 10 Water Panel, a 24VAC transformer, an outdoor temperature sensor, a saddle valve and the installation instructions. So the equipment price is close to the whole hardware cost rather than the start of a parts list.
What is not in the box is the labor, and we will not estimate it. Installed HVAC pricing is local, quoted, and depends on the state of your plenum and your plumbing - anybody publishing a national figure for it is guessing. Aprilaire itself routes buyers to its "nationwide network of AprilAire Healthy Air Professionals". Whole house cost against the portables it replaces does the ownership arithmetic that comes after the install, which is the part nobody publishes.
The consumable is where it wins
One Water Panel a year, on Aprilaire's own published maintenance schedule, plus an annual look at the distribution tray. Compare that with the one firm wick interval published anywhere in our portable set - 30 to 60 days - and the scale of the difference is immediate.
The mechanism behind that gap is worth understanding rather than just noting, because it is not a quality difference. A wick in a tray of standing water captures every mineral in the water that passes through it and keeps them. A Water Panel in a draining unit passes most of that mineral straight down the drain. The panel is simply doing far less capture work per gallon evaporated. Wick vs Water Panel is that comparison in full.
500, 600 or 700?
| Model | Published output | Published coverage | Design | Water panel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 500 | 12 gal/day | Up to 3,600 sq ft | Bypass - no fan of its own | Model 10 |
| 600 | 17 gal/day | Up to 5,000 sq ft | Bypass - no fan of its own | Model 35 |
| 700 | 18 gal/day | Up to 5,300 sq ft | Fan-powered | Model 35 |
The decision is two questions rather than a ranking. Does your house need more than about 12 gallons a day? If yes, the 600 is the next step at bypass prices and is the model most 500-versus-700 comparisons skip - Aprilaire 500 vs 600 is that head-to-head. Does your heating cycle enough to move air across a panel? If not, the fan-powered 700 is the answer regardless of capacity, because it brings its own blower. Note that 600 to 700 is a 6 percent capacity step for a fan, so capacity is almost never the reason to choose the 700.
Who should buy it
- Anyone with ducted forced-air heating and a figure up to about 12 gallons a day. That covers most single-family houses, and this is the cheapest honest way to meet it.
- Anyone who has failed at portable maintenance. No reservoir means no daily empty-and-dry and no every-third-day clean. This is the most underrated reason to go ducted.
- Anyone tired of wicks. One Water Panel a year against three to six wicks a season, per machine, is close to an order of magnitude.
- Anyone who wants a number they can hold the maker to. Twelve gallons a day is printed, and it reconciles with the coverage claim on the same page.
Who should not
- Anyone without ducted forced-air heating. No ducts, no bypass route, no install. Best humidifiers when you have no ductwork is the alternative.
- Anyone whose heating rarely runs, or who has a heat pump. A bypass unit with no fan of its own is at its weakest exactly there.
- Anyone needing more than about 12 gallons a day. The 600 at 17 is the next step, and the published figures make that comparison easy.
- Anyone who wants to plug something in this evening. This needs a water supply, a drain, a bypass duct route and realistically an installer. It also wastes water by design - the drain that keeps it clean is water going down it.
One closing note on what this review is not. We have never installed one of these, we do not own one, and nothing above is a test result - every figure is read from Aprilaire's own published pages and converted with arithmetic we show. The warranty term is a case in point: the page links to a registration form and does not state a term, so we report that rather than repeating a number from somewhere else.
The picks, in full

Top pick · A ducted house, without the fan-powered price
Aprilaire Model 500
Twelve gallons a day against a stated 3,600 sq ft, on the same published basis as the 700. It is the bypass design, which means it borrows the furnace blower instead of bringing its own fan.
This is the cheaper half of the whole-house decision and, for a lot of houses, the correct half. Aprilaire calls it a small bypass evaporative humidifier, and the published pair - 12 gallons a day to 3,600 square feet - works out to 300 square feet per gallon per day, which is within two percent of the rate we derive from its whole range.
The bypass design is the reason it costs less. Instead of carrying its own fan it takes a duct between the supply and return plenums and lets the furnace blower push air across the water panel. Fewer parts, less to install, less to fail - and one real consequence, which is that it moves air only when the furnace blower is moving air.
At 12 gallons a day it covers most single-family houses. The arithmetic for what your house actually needs is on our sizing chart; if it lands above about 12 gallons a day, or your ductwork has nowhere sensible for a bypass duct to go, that is the point at which the fan-powered 700 earns its extra cost.
What works
- Publishes capacity and coverage together, which almost nothing else in the category does
- No reservoir, so none of the standing-water maintenance that dominates portable humidifiers
- Water Panel on an annual schedule rather than a wick every 30 to 60 days
- Materially cheaper than the fan-powered model, installed or not
What does not
- Humidifies only while the furnace blower runs, because it has no fan of its own
- Needs somewhere to route a bypass duct between supply and return, which not every install has
- Requires ducted forced-air heating, a water supply, a drain and realistically an installer
- Wastes water: the drain that keeps it clean also sends water down it
Skip this ifyour house needs more than about 12 gallons a day, or your ductwork has no practical route for a bypass duct. Both point at the fan-powered 700 instead.
The arithmetic
- Published output (continuous)
- 12.0 gal/day
- Covers, at 296 sq ft per gal/day
- 3,552 sq ft
- Maker’s coverage claim
- 3,600 sq ft
- Output that claim would need
- 12.2 gal/day
Output as the manufacturer publishes it. Coverage rate derived from Aprilaire’s own published capacity-and-coverage pairs.
Published specification
- Tank
- not publishedThere is no tank. It is plumbed to the water supply and drains to waste.
- Output/day
- 12 gal/daySource
- Coverage
- Up to 3,600 sq ftAprilaire states this for tightly constructed homes. It is one of the three published capacity-and-coverage pairs our 296 sq ft per gal/day rate is derived from.Source
- Power
- 24 VAC via the supplied transformerAprilaire ships a Model 60 digital automatic humidistat, an outdoor temperature sensor and a saddle valve in the box.Source
- Filter
- Model 10 Water PanelAprilaire's maintenance page puts Models 300, 500, 600, 700 and 720 on an annual schedule, plus an annual distribution-tray inspection.Source
- Cleaning
- Drains to waste, so no water stands inside the unitThe same design property as the 700: nothing sits still long enough to grow a film.Source
$289.99 · 7% off
#ad · how this is funded · price as of October 29, 2026

Pick 2 · A large ducted house that still wants the bypass price
Aprilaire Model 600
Seventeen gallons a day to a stated 5,000 sq ft - the 700's capacity class in the 500's bypass body. It still borrows the furnace blower, so it humidifies only while that blower runs.
The 600 is the model people miss. It sits between the two whole-house units most buyers compare - it has the 700's published capacity, 17 gallons a day to 5,000 square feet, and the 500's bypass design, which is the cheaper of the two ways to move air across a water panel.
What you give up against the 700 is the fan. A bypass humidifier has none of its own: it takes a duct between the supply and return plenums and lets the furnace blower do the work. That is why it costs less to buy and less to install, and it is also the one functional limit - on a mild day when the furnace barely cycles, the humidifier barely runs.
What you gain against the 500 is five gallons a day, which on our derived rate is about 1,400 square feet of extra capacity. If your house arithmetic lands between 12 and 17 gallons a day, this is the unit the category tends to skip past.
What works
- The 700's published capacity class at bypass prices
- Publishes capacity and coverage together, which almost nothing else in the category does
- No reservoir, so none of the standing-water maintenance that dominates portables
- Model 35 Water Panel on an annual schedule rather than a wick every 30 to 60 days
What does not
- Humidifies only while the furnace blower runs, because it has no fan of its own
- Needs somewhere to route a bypass duct between supply and return, which not every install has
- Requires ducted forced-air heating, a water supply, a drain and realistically an installer
- Wastes water: the drain that keeps it clean also sends water down it
- Aprilaire publishes no warranty term on the product page we fetched
Skip this ifyour ductwork has no practical route for a bypass duct, or your heating is short-cycling by design and you need humidity when the blower is idle. Both point at the fan-powered 700.
The arithmetic
- Published output (continuous)
- 17.0 gal/day
- Covers, at 296 sq ft per gal/day
- 5,032 sq ft
- Maker’s coverage claim
- 5,000 sq ft
- Output that claim would need
- 16.9 gal/day
Output as the manufacturer publishes it. Coverage rate derived from Aprilaire’s own published capacity-and-coverage pairs.
Published specification
- Tank
- not publishedThere is no tank. It is plumbed to the water supply and drains to waste.
- Output/day
- 17 gal/daySource
- Coverage
- Up to 5,000 sq ftAprilaire states this for tightly constructed homes. Against its 17 gal/day that is 294 sq ft per gal/day, within one percent of the 296 rate we derive from the 500, 400 and 700.Source
- Power
- 24 VAC via the supplied transformerAprilaire lists a Model 60 digital automatic humidistat with the unit.Source
- Filter
- Model 35 Water PanelThe larger panel, the same part the 700 uses - not the Model 10 the 500 takes. Aprilaire's maintenance page puts Models 300, 500, 600, 700 and 720 on an annual schedule, plus an annual distribution-tray inspection.Source
- Cleaning
- Drains to waste, so no water stands inside the unitThe same design property as the 500 and 700: nothing sits still long enough to grow a film.Source
#ad · how this is funded · price as of October 29, 2026

Pick 3 · An actual whole house, sized against a standard
Aprilaire Model 700
Eighteen gallons a day against a stated 5,300 sq ft, cited to AHRI Guideline F. It is ducted, it needs installing, and it is the only sizing claim here with a standard behind it.
This is the reference point for the whole site. Aprilaire is the only maker in our set that publishes a capacity in gallons per day and a coverage in square feet together, and cites the residential sizing standard as the basis for pairing them. Three of its models do it consistently: 12 gal/day to 3,600 sq ft, 17 to 5,000, and 18 to 5,300. Those three pairs are where our 296 square feet per gallon per day comes from.
Everything else follows from the fact that it drains. There is no reservoir, so there is no standing water, so the pink film and the mold that dominate portable-humidifier ownership simply do not arise. The Water Panel goes once or twice a heating season instead of a wick every 30 to 60 days, which changes the recurring cost by an order of magnitude.
The honest counterweight is that this is not a purchase, it is a project. It mounts in ductwork, it needs a water line and a drain, it needs a humidistat and an outdoor sensor, and unless you are comfortable cutting into a plenum it needs a contractor. Our whole-house cost page works through the break-even against running several portables.
What works
- The only sizing claim in this set with a published standard behind it
- No reservoir, so no standing water and none of the maintenance that follows from it
- Water Panel changed once or twice a season instead of a wick every month or two
What does not
- Requires ducted forced-air heating, a water supply, a drain and, realistically, an installer
- Installed cost is a different order of magnitude from any portable here
- Wastes water: the drain design that keeps it clean also sends water to waste
Skip this ifyou rent, or you heat with anything other than a ducted forced-air system. Neither is a fixable objection.
The arithmetic
- Published output (continuous)
- 18.0 gal/day
- Covers, at 296 sq ft per gal/day
- 5,328 sq ft
- Maker’s coverage claim
- 5,300 sq ft
- Output that claim would need
- 17.9 gal/day
Output as the manufacturer publishes it. Coverage rate derived from Aprilaire’s own published capacity-and-coverage pairs.
Published specification
- Tank
- not publishedThere is no tank. It is plumbed to the water supply and drains to waste.
- Output/day
- 18 gal/daySource
- Coverage
- Up to 5,300 sq ftAprilaire states this for tightly constructed homes and cites AHRI Guideline FSource
- Power
- 24 VAC via the supplied transformerSource
- Filter
- Model 35 Water PanelAprilaire's maintenance page puts this on an annual schedule, plus an annual distribution-tray inspection. Its product page says once or twice per heating season; the two documents differ and we take the more specific one. Either way it is by far the longest interval of any unit here.Source
- Cleaning
- Built-in drain flushes mineral build-upWater does not stand inside the unit, which removes the standing-water problem entirelySource
#ad · how this is funded · price as of October 29, 2026
Questions people actually ask
How many square feet does the Aprilaire 500 cover?
Aprilaire publishes up to 3,600 square feet for tightly constructed homes, with a capacity of 12 gallons per day, footnoted to AHRI Guideline F. Those two figures work out to 300 square feet per gallon per day, within two percent of the 296 rate we derive from Aprilaire's own range - so unlike almost every portable claim, this one survives its own arithmetic.
Does the Aprilaire 500 need a furnace?
It needs ducted forced-air heating with a blower, which in most houses means a furnace. It has no fan of its own: a bypass duct runs between the supply and return plenums and the furnace blower pushes air across the Water Panel, so the unit humidifies only while the blower is moving air. A central ducted heat pump qualifies on ductwork but delivers cooler supply air, which is the usual reason steam is recommended for those systems.
What comes with the Aprilaire 500?
The humidifier, a Model 60 Digital Automatic Humidistat, a Model 10 Water Panel, a 24VAC transformer, an outdoor temperature sensor, a saddle valve and installation instructions. That means the equipment price is close to the whole hardware cost. The labor is not included and we will not estimate it - installed HVAC pricing is a local quote.
How often do you change the water panel on an Aprilaire 500?
Annually. Aprilaire's maintenance page puts Models 300, 500, 600, 700 and 720 on an annual Water Panel schedule, plus an annual inspection of the distribution tray. Across five heating seasons that is five consumables, against fifteen to thirty wicks for a portable on the 30-to-60-day interval published for the one wick in our set that has one.
Aprilaire 500 or 600?
Capacity decides it. The 500 publishes 12 gallons a day to 3,600 square feet and the 600 publishes 17 to 5,000, both as bypass units taking different Water Panels - Model 10 and Model 35 respectively. If your sizing figure is under about 12 gallons a day, the 500 is the cheaper correct answer; above it, the 600 gives you the 700's capacity class at bypass prices.
Does an Aprilaire 500 need cleaning?
Far less than any portable. It has no reservoir and drains to waste, so nothing stands still long enough to grow a film - which removes the daily empty-and-dry and the every-third-day cleaning schedule that the EPA recommends for tank humidifiers. The published maintenance is the annual Water Panel change and an annual look at the distribution tray.
What is the warranty on the Aprilaire 500?
Aprilaire does not state a term on the product page we read - it links to a warranty registration page instead. We report that rather than quoting a figure from elsewhere. For comparison, Levoit publishes a 2-year limited warranty on the units of its range we cover and Vornado publishes a 5-Year Satisfaction Guarantee on the Evap40.
Is a whole house humidifier better than several portables?
On published output, one Aprilaire 700 replaces about four and a half of the largest portable we cover. The stronger argument is maintenance: four portables emptied, dried and refilled daily from October to March is roughly 730 individual acts of upkeep, and the realistic outcome is four neglected machines. A ducted unit has no reservoir at all.
Sources
Every figure on this page came from one of the documents below, read on the date shown. We do not cite other review sites, forum posts or video reviews as sources of fact.
- Aprilaire Model 500 - manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Aprilaire Model 500 - manufacturer product page, re-read October 23, 2026 ("For tightly constructed homes up to 3,600 square feet, with a capacity of 12 gallons per day", footnoted to "AHRI Guideline F for Average Construction homes"; "Our duct-mounted small bypass evaporative humidifier"; the onboard control "Automatically turns on the HVAC fan to measure the relative humidity inside the ductwork"; in the box the humidifier, Model 60 Digital Automatic Humidistat, Model 10 Water Panel, 24VAC transformer, outdoor temperature sensor, saddle valve and installation instructions; 13H x 10.25W x 15.625D inches; sold through the "nationwide network of AprilAire Healthy Air Professionals"; no warranty term and no water-consumption or drain figure stated)
- Aprilaire - Humidifier Maintenance (per-model water panel schedule: annually for Models 300, 500, 600, 700 and 720, twice per heating season for the Model 400; annual distribution tray inspection; steam canister annually and electrode wires every three years)
- AHRI Guideline F - Selection, Installation and Servicing of Residential Humidifiers (the residential sizing standard; ahrinet.org returned HTTP 403 to this build, so we cite it as the governing document without paraphrasing text we did not read)
- Aprilaire Model 600 - manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- Aprilaire Model 700 - manufacturer spec page (retrieved September 1, 2026)
- US Environmental Protection Agency - Use and Care of Home Humidifiers (relative humidity ceiling, three-day cleaning interval, low-mineral water, microorganism warning)
- Honeywell Store - HAC-504 Replacement Wicking Filter A, 3 pack ("Depending on water quality and usage, wicking filters should be replaced every 30-60 days", and change it if it is hard, crusty or brittle, develops an odor, or moisture output has decreased; retrieved September 27, 2026)
- Vornado Evap40 - manufacturer product page, re-read October 23, 2026. It says nothing about essential oils or any other additive, either permitting or prohibiting them. Published figures unchanged: "Up to 4 Gallon Output in 24 Hours", "Extra Large 4 Gallon Capacity", "Whole Room Humidification - Up to 1,000 Sq. Ft.", "2 Filters Included", and a 5-Year Satisfaction Guarantee.
Read next

Aprilaire 500 vs 600
The Aprilaire 500 and 600 are the same design at two capacities - 12 gal/day to 3,600 sq ft against 17 to 5,000. Which one your house needs, worked from your own square footage, and the consumable difference nobody mentions.
Top pick: Aprilaire Model 500 · 12.0 gal/day
$289.99 · 7% off
#ad · how this is funded · price as of October 29, 2026

Ducted comparison
Bypass vs fan-powered humidifiers
The whole-house decision most installers make for you, with both sides on their maker's own published figures - and the operating difference nobody mentions until winter.
Top pick: Aprilaire Model 500 · 12.0 gal/day
$289.99 · 7% off
#ad · how this is funded · price as of October 29, 2026

Whole house
Whole house cost, against the portables it replaces
The ownership case for a ducted humidifier against multiple portables, with the consumable arithmetic and an honest statement of what we cannot cost.
Top pick: Aprilaire Model 700 · 18.0 gal/day
#ad · how this is funded · price as of October 29, 2026

Best whole house
Best whole house humidifiers
Whole-house picks: the ducted option, the console alternatives, and the four requirements that disqualify most buyers.
Top pick: Aprilaire Model 700 · 18.0 gal/day
#ad · how this is funded · price as of October 29, 2026

Whole house sizing
Whole house humidifier sizing chart
Whole-house sizing by square footage, built from published manufacturer capacity-and-coverage pairs rather than copied from another chart.
Top pick: Aprilaire Model 700 · 18.0 gal/day
#ad · how this is funded · price as of October 29, 2026
Found a number that is wrong? Tell us and we will fix it and say so. How we pick shows every formula used on this page.